GSOC 2017: And so it begins

GSOC 2017: And so it begins

Hey everyone,

This is the beginning of what seems to be a really exciting summer. Why, you ask? Well, it’s because I’m going to spend most of it as a true GNOME contributor, working on a really cool project.

But let’s start from the beginning. Only 4 months ago, I was making my first steps as a contributor in the open-source world. One of the first things I discovered is how amazing and helpful the GNOME community is. I started by trying out a lot of GNOME apps and looking through the code behind them and that’s how I discovered Pitivi, a really great video editing solution. After my first patch on Pitivi got accepted, I was really hooked up. Fast forward a couple of patches and now I have the opportunity and great pleasure to work on my own project: UI for the Ken Burns effect, after being accepted for Google Summer of Code 2017. In this amazing journey, I’ve had some great mentoring: special thanks to Thibault Saunier (thiblahute), who is also my current mentor for GSOC 2017, and Alexandru Balut (aleb), who helped me along the way.

The goal of my GSOC project is to allow Pitivi users to create effects based on the positioning and zoom of their clips (like the Ken Burns effect). More precisely, when this project will be completed, Pitivi will support adding values for the position and zoom of the clip at various timestamps and smoothly transitioning between these values.

I’m expecting a lot of fun while working on this project and I encourage you to keep reading my blog for further updates. 🙂

Happy coding!

Leave a Reply

